Record number of awards nominations for revamped Entrepreneurs’ Gala

Acadian Chamber reveals names of finalists

SUMMERSIDE, PEI – Feb. 2, 2012 – The Acadian and Francophone Chamber of Commerce of PEI (CCAFLIPE) has received a record of 14 nominations for the five entrepreneurial awards it will present during the revamped “Acadian Entrepreneurs’ Gala” (formerly the Acadian Entrepreneurs’ Banquet) March 17 at the Centre Belle-Alliance.

“The award selection committee was very pleased to have received so many nominations during this first year of our restructured awards competition,” says Jeannette Arsenault, spokesperson for the Chamber. “On the other side of the coin, picking winners was extremely difficult since the quality of nominations was extremely high and all the nominees definitely deserve to win. In the majority of cases, there were just a few points of difference in the score awarded to each nomination. The committee had some pretty intense discussions while trying to arrive at its final choices.”

Arsenault is pleased to share the list of award finalists.

2012 Young Enterprising Person of the Year
•    Josée Arsenault (daughter of Edgar and Stella Arsenault of Urbainville)
•    Sylvain Gallant (son of Roger and Jeanne Gallant of Abram-Village)
•    Ginette Arsenault (daughter of Melvin and Paulette Arsenault of Mont-Carmel)

2012 Co-operative of the Year
•    Coopérative de développement culturel et patrimonial de Mont-Carmel
•    Evangeline Funeral Co-op, Urbainville
•    Abram’s Village Handcraft Co-op

2012 Business Woman of the Year
•    Paula Gallant – consultant, Charlottetown
•    Anne Gallant – artist, Art Gallery of Anne Gallant, Kensington
•    Denise Arsenault – holistic health practitioner, Health Within Holistic Centre, Stratford

2012 Distinguished Entrepreneur
•    Alyre Arsenault – founder of AJL Construction Ltd., St-Philippe
•    Henri Gallant – co-founder and co-owner of HMS Office Supplies, Summerside

2012 President’s Award of Excellence
•    Deva Forestry (Marcel and Gérard Arsenault), Abram-Village
•    Mermaid Marine (Patrick Villeneuve), Charlottetown
•    Wellington Esso (Donnie Arsenault), Wellington

The award winners from each category will be announced during the banquet.

“We really hope that all the employees, families and friends of all the people and businesses nominated will be able to attend our gala to help us celebrate their many accomplishments,” said the spokesperson. “All of our finalists contribute tremendously to their community and/or to the economy of our province, whether it be by the creation of jobs, the delivery of high quality products and services or the contribution of time or money to various causes aimed at helping our communities evolve.”

This year’s award sponsors are the Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency, the Province of PEI, The Co-operators (Mike Bradley Insurance Services Ltd.), CBDC Central PEI and Evangeline Credit Union.

Tickets for the gala, which will soon go on sale, will be $25 plus GST for CCAFLIPE members and $30 plus GST for non-members. The evening will include a reception, a three-course banquet and the awards ceremony. Other details will be disclosed soon.


CUTLINE: Here is the new logo or emblem for the Entrepreneur’s Gala. Its colors – blue, orange and white – and the image of a compass are borrowed from the CCAFLIPE’s logo since the Chamber is organizing the gala. Finally, it uses the shape of a modern trophy. The lettering can either be placed on the right of the trophy or below it in much smaller print.

For more information:

Raymond J. Arsenault
Communications officer/gala coordinator
(902) 854-3665

Leave Comment

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *